S.N.	Name	Born-D ead	Term	Information
1.	Jawahar Lal Nehru	(1889– 1964)	15 August 1947 to 27 May 1964 16 years, 286 days	The first prime minister of India and the longest-serving PM of India, the first to die in office.
2.	Gulzarilal Nanda (Acting)	(1898-1 998)	27 May 1964 to 9 June 1964, 13 days	First acting PM of India
3.	Lal Bahadur Shastri	(1904– 1966)	9 June 1964 to 11 January 1966 1 year, 216 days	He has given the slogan of 'Jai Jawan Jai Kisan' during the Indo-Pak war of 1965
4.	Gulzari Lal Nanda (Acting)	(1898-1 998)	11 January 1966 to 24 January 1966 13 days	-
5.	Indira Gandhi	(1917– 1984)	24 January 1966 to 24 March 1977 11 years, 59 days	First female Prime Minister of India

6.	Morarji Desai	(1896– 1995)	24 March 1977 to 28 July 1979 2 year, 126 days	Oldest to become PM (81 years old) and first to resign from office
7.	Charan Singh	(1902– 1987)	28 July 1979 to 14 January 1980 170 days	Only PM who did not face the Parliament
8.	Indira Gandhi	(1917– 1984)	14 January 1980 to 31 October 1984 4 years, 291 days	The first lady who served as PM for the second term
9.	Rajiv Gandhi	(1944– 1991)	31 October 1984 to 2 December 1989 5 years, 32 days	Youngest to become PM (40 years old)
10.	V. P. Singh	(1931– 2008)	2 December 1989 to 10 November 1990 343 days	First PM to step down after a vote of no confidence
11.	Chandra Shekhar	(1927– 2007)	10 November 1990 to 21 June 1991	He belongs to Samajwadi Janata Party

			223 days	
12.	P. V. Narasimha Rao	(1921– 2004)	21 June 1991 to 16 May 1996 4 years, 330 days	First PM from south India
13.	Atal Bihari Vajpayee	(1924- 2018)	16 May 1996 to 1 June 1996 16 days	PM for shortest tenure
14.	H. D. Deve Gowda	(born 1933)	1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997 324 days	He belongs to Janata Dal
15.	Inder Kumar Gujral	(1919– 2012)	21 April 1997 to 19 March 1998 332 days	
16.	Atal Bihari Vajpayee	(1924-2 018)	19 March 1998 to 22 May 2004 6 years, 64 days	The first non-congress PM who completed a full term as PM
17.	Manmohan Singh	(born 1932)	22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014 10 years, 4 days	First Sikh PM

18.	Narendra Modi	(born 1950)	26 May 2014 - Present	4th Prime Minister of India who served two consecutive tenures
-----	------------------	----------------	--------------------------	--